Retired Employees Association

Members of the Olathe Public Schools Retired Employees Association executive board say, "We're excited about this organization because it provides the opportunity to keep in touch with former colleagues, to make new friends through social activities, and to continue to serve the students of this district and the community of Olathe."

2017-18 REA officers
The 2017-18 board includes, from left: Diane Gossage, Treasurer Connie Viebrock, Carol Wheeler, Phyllis Freeman, Doug Cox, President Elect Earl Martin, President John Kieffer, Marsha Stoker, Melinda Kearney, Raleen Cox, Past President Tom Kearney, Stephanie Royer, Secretary Paula Slifer, District Community Liaison Heather Schoonover, Mary Cochran and Gary Ulmer. Not present are members David Brewer, Wendy Scholten, Texanna Ollenberger, Judy Rapp, Debbie Ramirez, Ernie Claudel, Terri Jarboe and district employee Amanda York.


Officers, Committee Contacts

The mission of the Olathe Public Schools - Retired Employees Association is to enrich life by providing resources for our members and the educational community.

REA 2017-18 officers:

  • President — John Kieffer
  • President-elect — Earl Martin
  • Secretary — Paula Slifer
  • Treasurer — Connie Viebrock
  • Past president — Tom Kearney
  • Members-at-large — David Brewer, Wendy Scholten, Melinda Kearney, Carol Wheeler, Phyllis Freeman

REA Committees:

  • Community Organizations — Amanda York
  • Community Organizations Breakfast — Tom Kearney
  • District Liaison — Heather Schoonover
  • Fundraising — Marsha Stoker, Terri Jarboe and Diane Gossage
    • Develop plans for raising funds for the organization and for scholarships on behalf of ODS-REA
  • Hospitality/Care and Concern — Mary Cochran
    • Reach out to members during times of crisis and times of celebration
  • Legislative — Ernie Claudel
    • Keep members informed about legislative and state retirement issues that impact retired school district employees and collaborate with school district administrators to keep members informed about benefits available to retirees
  • Media Specialist (Facebook/photographer) — John Kieffer and Tom Kearney
  • Membership — Judy Rapp and Debbie Ramirez
    • Organize annual membership drives
  • Olathe Public Schools Foundation — Marsha Stoker
  • Publicity/Communications — Amanda York
    • Develop publications/communications
  • Scholarships — Raleen Cox and Stephanie Royer
    • Get information to school counselors and Future Teacher Organizations about the REA scholarship; help judge applications and choose the winner from each school
  • Social — Texanna Ollenberger
    • Plan programs and activities of interest to retirees
  • Volunteerism — Doug Cox
    • Notify members of ways they can volunteer in schools and community; collect and report volunteer hours to appropriate agencies