June 2017 Recognitions by the Board of Education

business partnership recognition

Interim Superintendent Patricia All and board member Mike Poland (left) thanked representatives from Health Partnership Clinic, Responsive Centers for Psychology and Learning, MidAmerica Nazarene University Counseling Department, Friends University, and the Olathe Public Schools Foundation for their support of the district in its work around the issue of mental health and emotional wellness.

Bessie Bauman honor

Olathe Northwest High School graduate Bessie Bauman was named a U.S. Presidential Scholar. Only one man and one woman from each state are selected based on their academic success, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. Joining Bauman at the board meeting was her principal, Chris Zuck (right).

Andrea Dahl honor

Olathe North High School graduate Andrea Dahl earned the Grand Award at the 2017 Greater Kansas City Science and Engineering Fair for the third time. She will receive an all-expense paid trip to compete at the 2017 International Science and Engineering Fair held in Los Angeles, California. She was accompanied at the board meeting by Olathe North Assistant Principal Heather Smith.

Sathvik Kasarabada honor

California Trail Middle School student Sathvik Kasarabada won the Kansas National Geographic Bee held at the Eisenhower Presidential Library in Abilene, Kansas. He also competed in the national championships at the National Geographic Society headquarters in Washington, D.C. in May.

Science Olympiad champions

Olathe North High School won the C Division of the state Science Olympiad competition and California Trail Middle School won the B Division. This was the sixth consecutive win for Olathe North and the second straight win for California Trail. Both teams traveled to the 33rd Annual National Science Olympiad Tournament in Dayton, Ohio. The students were accompanied by Olathe North Assistant Principal Heather Smith (second from left) and California Trail Assistant Principal Karey Ficken (right).

Character awards

Representatives from Frontier Trail Middle School, Sunnyside Elementary School and Ravenwood Elementary School were congratulated on the character awards their schools received. Frontier Trail and Sunnyside were recognized with the Enhanced Spotlight Recognition for Social, Emotional and Character Development. Ravenwood earned two Promising Practices awards.

Justin Howe award

Justin Howe of Pioneer Trail Middle School was recently recognized as the 2017 Exemplary Assistant Principal by the Kansas Administrators of Middle Schools Association. Pioneer Trail Principal Elaine Carpenter assisted with the recognition.

Mike Wolgast recognition

Chisholm Trail Middle School received the Kansas Association of Middle School Administrators High Performing School recognition and was a finalist for 2017 KAMSA Middle School of the Year. Principal Mike Wolgast was recognized at the board meeting.

Mike Wallace award

Olathe East High School coach Mike Wallace was recognized by the National Federation Coaches Association as Girls Track and Field State of Kansas Coach of the Year. He was joined at the board meeting by Assistant Principal / Athletic Director Amanda Faunce (center) and Principal Kerry Lane.

Photos by Cody Kennedy