June 2014 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Community America recognition

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Rick Schier (left), along with Deputy Superintendent Alison Banikowski (right), recognized representatives from Community America Credit Union for its business partnership. For two consecutive years, the credit union provided financial literacy classes to the families and staff at Head Start. At the secondary level, they host two student internships a year who receive detailed training in technology services. Community America has also been an annual supporter of the Olathe Public Schools Foundation golf tournament and annual breakfast, and this year became an Adopt-A-School partner with Briarwood Elementary School.

Ryan Dahl recognition

Ryan Dahl, a 2014 graduate of Olathe North High School, was named a 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholar, one of the most prestigious honors bestowed upon a graduating senior. This is only the second time a student from the Olathe Public Schools has received this honor. Dahl was joined at the recognition presentation by Olathe North Principal David Morford (right).

Greg Bixler recognition

Greg Bixler, from Olathe North High School, recently received a perfect score on the ACT exam. He is one of nine district students to recently earn this honor. He was joined by his principal, David Morford, at the board meeting.

Colby Miller recognition

Olathe East High School student Colby Miller recently won the Kansas Oratorical Speech Contest. He previously won the city and district competitions before heading to state. His topic was "How my passions affect the world." He was joined at the board meeting by speech teacher Victor Dougherty and Principal Bill Weber (far right).

Chinmay Patil recognition

California Trail Middle School student Chinmay Patil won the Kansas Geography Bee and represented the district and the state in the National Geography Bee, sponsored by the National Geographic Society. He competed in the preliminary round and answered six out of nine questions correctly. California Trail Principal Connie Viebrock was on hand to participate in the board recognition.



Culinary Team recognition

The district's 21st Century Culinary Program, under the leadership of chef Mike Chrostowski and Patti McWilliams, had great success at the state and national ProStart culinary competitions.They placed first at state and second in the nation. They were joined at the board meeting by Eric Punswick, executive director of general administration over high school programs (right).

Olathe Northwest Team 1710 recognition

The Olathe Northwest High School FIRST Robotics team, joined by instructor Darren Worcester and Principal Gwen Poss (far right), was recognized for winning awards at the World Championships. Safety Captain Samantha Viron won Safety Star of the Day in the Newton Division. The team won the Underwriters Laboratory Industrial Safety Award, the overall team award for the team that has the strongest safety program. They also won the top award of the division, the Engineering Inspiration award. The Engineering Inspiration award is chosen for the team that inspires the next generation to get involved in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. This award qualifies the team for the 2015 World Championships, as well as pays for the registration.  

Jason Herman recognition

Jason Herman, Olathe North High School assistant principal and athletic director, was named one of four District Athletic Directors of the Year by the Kansas Interscholastic Athletic Administrator Association. The award is voted on by all the past presidents of the organization and recognizes honorees for their outstanding leadership. Principal David Morford joined Herman at the board meeting.

Indian Trail recognition  

Indian Trail Middle School was selected as one of five 2014 Kansas Association of Middle School Administrators (KAMSA) Middle School of the Year finalists. Representing the school were Principal Becky Vrbas (center) and Assistant Principal Shane Kaberline (second from left). They were joined by Assistant Superintendent Erin Dugan (second from right) and other school leaders.

Photos by Scott Carpenter