September 2014 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Presidential Service Award recipients

Superintendent Marlin Berry (far right) and board president LeEtta Felter (far left) recognized dozens of Seniors Serving Schools volunteers for their service to the district in 2013-14. Twenty-one seniors volunteered 100 to 249 hours and earned a Bronze Award. Eight seniors volunteered 250 to 499 hours and earned a Silver Award. The award recipients were joined by Seniors Serving Schools coordinators Suzie Kaminski and Diane Pollitt, as well as Pam Wolfe and Heather Schoonover from the district's Community Development Office.

Brent Kiger

Olathe Police Officer Brent Kiger (center) was named Kansas School Resource Officer of the Year by the Kansas Juvenile Officers Association. He was joined at the board meeting by Olathe North High School Principal David Morford and Mission Trail Middle School Principal Jim McMullen, whose schools he served; Assistant Superintendent Erin Dugan; School Resource Officer Sgt. John Roland; and district Manager of Safety and Security LaVern Fields.

Cathy Donovan recognition

The superintendent and board president recognized Cathy Donovan, executive director of elementary personnel, for receiving the 2014 Herb Salinger Personnel Administrator of the Year Award. She was joined at the ceremony by Kelly Coash-Johnson from the American Association of School Personnel Administrators (far left) and Executive Director of Human Resources Jim Payne (right).

Photos by Ann Kohn