November 2014 Recognitions by the Board of Education

John Deere representatives

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Amy Martin (left) thanked representatives from John Deere for their business partnership with the district. Holding the recognition certificate are Shirley Schwabe, Annette Corona and Windy Ziegler. They were joined by district Community Liaison Heather Schoonover (second from right) and Hannah Miller, the Olathe North High School teacher who coordinates the backsnack program through the Adopt-A-School partnership with John Deere.

Henry Zimmermann is honored Olathe East High School senior Henry Zimmermann (center) was honored for being named to the 2014 National Association for Music Education All-National Concert Band Honor Ensemble. He was joined by band instructor Jeff Smikahl and Olathe East Principal Bill Weber (right).
Alyson Lewis is recognized

Alyson Lewis of Pioneer Trail Middle School (holding certificate) received the Special Educator of the Year Award from the Kansas Council for Exceptional Children. She was joined at the board meeting recognition by Pioneer Trail Assistant Principal Elaine Carpenter (right).

Photos by Ann Kohn