December 2014 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Olathe Public Schools Foundation recognized

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Harlan Parker (back row) recognized the Olathe Public Schools Foundation for nearly 20 years of financial and volunteer dedication to the district, its students and staff.

Back to School Outreach recognition

Dozens of district staff and volunteers work on the Back to School Outreach in August. The event won the Outstanding Project distinction for the 2014 National Association for the Education of Homeless Children and Youth Annual Award.

United Way Executive Committee recognition The superintendent and board member Harlan Parker (right) congratulated members of the district's United Way executive committee for the districtwide drive that resulted in more than $94,000 in donations. Eric Punswick, Nancy Cheatham and Beth Esco are part of the five-member committee.
Heather Schoonover recognition Community Liaison Heather Schoonover received the Chairperson's Award from the Olathe Human Relations Commission. The award honors an individual who exhibits constructive concern for oppressed people, is active in community and civic affairs, promotes community and human betterment, and has been involved in at least one activity worth of human relations recognition.
Cristi Wightman recognition Indian Creek Elementary School counselor Cristi Wightman has been named Kansas Counselor of the Year by the Kansas School Counselor Association. She was joined at the board meeting by Executive Director of General Administration / Elementary Programs Brent Yeager.
Mike Chrostowski recognition Mike Chrostowski, culinary arts instructor, received the Cutting Edge Award from the American Culinary Federation. He was joined at the board meeting by Kathy Musgrave, career and technical education administrator.
Perfect ACT students recognized Disha Dasgupta and David Nelson, both from Olathe North High School, earned a perfect score of 36 on their ACT exams. Principal David Morford participated in the board recognition.
U.S. Army All-American Marching Band recognition Olathe North marching band members Carolyn Culp and Marisha Madhira have been named to the U.S. Army All-American Marching Band. Their band director is Justin Love (second from right) and their principal is David Morford (second from left).
Olathe East volleyball team recognition The Olathe East volleyball team won its second consecutive 6A state championship this year. They are coached by Brian Martin (second from left). Their principal is Bill Weber (kneeling) and the athletic director is Kraig Taylor (second from right).
Olathe East girls cross country team recognition The superintendent and board member Harlan Parker recognized the Olathe East girls cross country team for its 6A state championship win. The girls were joined by Principal Bill Weber (second from left), athletic director Kraig Taylor (second from right) and their coach, Tony Bozarth (third from right).
Olathe East boys soccer team recognition The Olathe East boys soccer team also captured a 6A state championship trophy. Their coach, Terry Hair, was unable to attend the presentation, but the team was accompanied by Principal Bill Weber and athletic director Kraig Taylor.
Darby Gertsema recognition

Darby Gertsema, a gymnast from Olathe East, was the state all-around and vault champion this year. Her coach is Julie Bayha.

Photos by Ann Kohn