January 2015 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Olathe's Got Talent recognition

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Mike Poland (second from right) recognized representatives from Olathe's Got Talent for their support of the arts in the Olathe Public Schools. The organization has provided $32,374 in student scholarships and funds for theater departments since 2011. Representing Olathe's Got Talent were Kris Kirkes (next to superintendent), Michael Ashcraft, Keith Stokes, Ruth Nelson and Victor Dougherty. District Community Liaison Heather Schoonover (far right) assisted with the presentation.

Nancy Smith recognition

Bentwood Elementary School first-grade teacher Nancy Smith earned National Board Certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. She was joined at the board meeting by Deputy Superintendent Alison Banikowski (center) and district science coordinator Julie Miller (second from right).

Principals honored The Kansas Association of Middle School Administrators bestowed honors on two district leaders. Indian Trail Middle School Assistant Principal Shane Kaberline (second from left) is the 2014-15 Assistant Principal of the Year and Rod Smith (center) is one of six "Exemplary" Middle School Principals of the Year. Superintendent Marlin Berry, Deputy Superintendent Alison Banikowski and board member Mike Poland presented the honors.
Joel Martin recognition

Olathe Northwest High School orchestra teacher Joel Martin is the Northeast District Kansas Music Educators Association High School Orchestra Educator of the Year. Assistant Principal Jay Novacek was present for the board meeting recognition.

Photos by Ann Kohn