June 2015 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Business partner recognitons Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Brent McCune (far right) joined Community Liaison Heather Schoonover and teacher Matt Peterie in recognizing four area businesses for their support of the 21st Century Aerospace and Engineering Program at Olathe Northwest High School. Representatives from (from left) the Kansas City Chapter of the National Tooling and Machining Association, NCS Precision Manufacturing, C&R Manufacturing, and A&E Custom Manufacturing were honored.
Camden Hanzlick-Burton Camden Hanzlick-Burton of Olathe Northwest High School was recognized for being named the 2015 Outstanding Biology Teacher for Kansas by the National Association of Biology Teachers. He was also named the National Outstanding New Biology Teacher by the National Association of Biology Teachers. Joining him at the board meeting was Olathe Northwest Principal Gwen Poss.
Global Education Excellence Award Dorothy Shuler, international exchange coordinator from EF High School Exchange Year, joined the superintendent and board member for recognition of a district honor. The Olathe Public Schools received national recognition for excellence in global education from EF High School Exchange Year. The Global Education Excellence Award is presented annually to high schools and districts that demonstrate an extraordinary commitment to international understanding and global awareness.
Andrea Dahl honor Andrea Dahl, a student at Olathe North High School, won the grand award at the 2015 Greater Kansas City Science and Engineering Fair and placed third at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. She was accompanied at the meeting by Olathe North Assistant Principal Chad Brecheisen.
Cooper Yerby honor Recent Olathe North graduate Cooper Yerby was recognized as one of the nation's most outstanding high school leaders by the Coca Cola Scholars Foundation. He was awarded a $20,000 scholarship as a Coca Cola Scholar. He was joined at the meeting by Olathe North Assistant Principal Chad Brecheisen.
Ashwanth Samuel honor Ashwanth Samuel, a recent graduate from Olathe Northwest, was awarded a Jefferson Scholarship, one of the most highly selective merit scholarships in the nation. The Jefferson Scholars Foundation at the University of Virginia selected him as one of 34 recipients of the prestigious award. Principal Gwen Poss assisted at the recognition.
Team 1710 honor The Olathe Northwest FIRST Robotics Team 1710 won both the Championship Competition and the Chairman's Award at the Greater Kansas City Regional FIRST competition. This is the fifth time the team has won the Chairman's Award at the event.
SkillsUSA honors Students from the Olathe Advanced Technical Center took first place at the Kansas SkillsUSA competition. Pictured from left are Auto Technology instructor Paul Katsulis with student Eyasu Mekonnen and Construction Trades student Michael Owen Sinn with instructor Gary Anderson. Administrator Kathy Musgrave also helped with the recognition.
Olathe North Science Olympiad team honors The Olathe North Science Olympiad team represented Kansas at the National Science Olympiad competition in Lincoln, Neb. Two students, Arvind Subramanian and David Nelson placed first in the Technical Problem Solving category.
Vanya Shivashankar honor

National spelling bee co-champion Vanya Shivashankar was congratulated for her recent achievements. She will be a student at Olathe North this fall and enroll in the Distinguished Scholars program. Her former assistant principal, Karey Ficken of California Trail Middle School, and Grace Hobson from the Olathe News participated in the board recognition.

Photos by Ann Kohn