September 2015 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Presidential Service Award winners Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Shannon Wickliffe thanked dozens of Seniors Serving Schools and Youth Mentor volunteers for their service to the district. Forty-three individuals earned the bronze Presidential Service Award for donating 100 to 249 hours of their time last year. Ten individuals received silver Presidential Service Awards for 250-499 hours and one man earned a gold Presidential Service Award for donating more than 500 hours of his time.
Perfect ACT score students Three Olathe students earned perfect ACT scores recently. They are Weston Harder of Olathe Northwest High School, Ty Lawson of Olathe North High School, and Connor Neil of Olathe Northwest. They were accompanied by their principals, David Morford and Gwen Poss.
Debby Byrne The superintendent and board member congratulated Debby Byrne on being named the Special Education Professional of the Year, named by the Kansas Association of Special Education Administrators. She was joined by Director of Special Services Lanie Fasulo.
Presidential Awards for Math and Science Teaching Jeremi Wonch and Patrick Flynn were recognized as recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. Wonch (center) teaches science at Indian Trail Middle School. Flynn teaches Advanced Placement Calculus and Algebra 1 at Olathe East High School. Indian Trail Principal Sarah Guerrero, retired Indian Trail Principal Becky Vrbas and Olathe East Principal Bill Weber assisted with the recognition.
Josh Anderson Olathe Northwest High School debate coach Josh Anderson was named the 2015 National Coach of the Year by the National Speech and Debate Association. His principal, Gwen Poss, is also pictured.

Photos by Jim Bradford