December 2015 Recognitions by the Board of Education

First National Bank recognition

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Brent McCune (far right) thanked First National Bank for its consistent support of a variety of programs throughout the district. Pictured from left are the superintendent, Community Liaison Heather Schoonover, bank representative Jennifer Sanborn, Olathe Public Schools Foundation Executive Director Cindy VonFeldt, bank representatives Brenda Carpenter and David Erlbacher, bank representative and Board of Education member Shannon Wickliffe, Pleasant Ridge Elementary School Adopt-a-School Coordinator Lisa Howard, California Trail Middle School Principal Mike Wiley, and McCune.

Olathe Public Schools Foundation recognition

Representatives from the Olathe Public Schools Foundation were thanked for the organization's longtime support as a district partner. The foundation works hand-in-hand with district staff and has a board of directors that includes 24 community members who volunteer their time, talents and resources to serve education in Olathe. Pictured are the superintendent, foundation board member Darren Odum, foundation board president Nancy Ingram, foundation executive director Cindy VonFeldt, foundation board members Jennifer Mehnert, Marsha Stoker and Gary Ulmer, Community Liaison Heather Schoonover, and McCune.

United Way committee Members of the district's United Way executive committee provided the impetus to Olathe staff to raise $73,294.22 for this year's campaign. They included Amanda Faunce, Beth Esco, Nancy Cheatham, Jennifer Curry, and Assistant Superintendent Erin Dugan.
Olathe North Eaglettes recognition

The Olathe North High School Eaglettes Dance Team received the Accessible Community Award from the Persons with Disabilities Advisory Board and the Youth Award from the Olathe Human Relations Commission. Accepting the award were two students, dance team director Sara Heptig and Olathe North Athletic Director Jason Herman.

Olathe North softball team recognition

The 2014-15 Olathe North softball team is the top-ranked Academic High School Softball Team in the nation according to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association. Team members were joined by coaches Bree Ederer and Frank Barnes, along with Olathe North Athletic Director Jason Herman

Olathe North cross country recognition

The Olathe North boys cross country team won the 6A state title this year. Team members and their coaches were recognized for earning the school's 20th state title overall and the first state championship for the cross country team.

Olathe East gymnastics recognition

The Olathe East High School gymnastics team won the 6A state title and secured the school's 47th overall state championship. In addition, two gymnasts were state champs in multiple events. The team was joined by Coach Julie Bayha (left) and Athletic Director Amanda Faunce (right).

Brent Yeager recognition

Executive Director of General Administration/Elementary Programs Brent Yeager received the President's Award from the Kansas Association of Health, Physical education, Recreation and Dance (KAHPERD). Assisting with the presentation were KAHPERD President Wendy Scholten and Assistant Superintendent Erin Dugan.

Photos by Marlene Colgan