January 2016 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Olathe Historical Society recognition

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Joe Beveridge, along with Community Liaison Heather Schoonover (far right), thanked representatives of the Olathe Historical Society for the organization's contributions to the district as a community partner. Robert Courtney and Gregory Sheffer (holding certificate) represented the historical society. They have worked closely with Social Science Coordinator Maureen Donegan to provide copies of the society's short films to Olathe schools.

Kansas School for the Deaf recognition

Kansas Deaf Cultural Center Executive Director Sandra Kelley (holding certificate) was thanked for the center's donation of copies of the book Kansas School for the Deaf: A Pictorial History, 1861-2011 to Olathe schools. Library Media Coordinator Lori Franklin and Community Liaison Heather Schoonover (right) participated in the recognition.

National Board Certification recognition Three educators recently renewed their National Board Certification and were recognized. Pictured are Bruce Wellman, Deb Jaeger and Kim Buenger (holding certificates), Early Childhood Education Special Services Administrator Carol Affholder, Science Coordinator Julie Miller, Olathe Northwest High School Principal Gwen Poss, and Prairie Trail Middle School Principal J.J. Libal.
Music therapy award

Three staff members were recognized for receiving the Music Therapy Award from the American Music Therapy Association. They are Early Childhood Education Special Services Administrator Carol Affholder, Director of Special Services Lanie Fasulo, and Woodland Elementary School Principal Stacy Shipley.

Olathe Northwest crisis team award

The Olathe Northwest High School Counseling and Crisis Team members received the Olathe Human Relations Commission's Educators Award for their exceptional leadership and composure following two student suicides last year.

Isaiah Simmons award

Isaiah Simmons of Olathe North High School was selected to play in the Semper Fidelis All-American Bowl because of his character, academic performance and leadership. He was also selected to the Topeka Capital-Journal's Top 11 football players in the state. Head football coach Chris McCartney and Principal David Morford participated in the recognition.

Alexander Kolar recognition

Alexander Kolar of Olathe North High School earned a perfect score on the ACT exam. Principal David Morford participated in the board's recognition of this achievement.

Selina Liu recognition

Selina Liu of Olathe East High School earned a perfect score on the ACT exam as a sophomore and a perfect score on the SAT just recently. Earning a perfect score on both tests is extremely rare. She was joined by Principal Bill Weber at the board meeting.

Photos by Jim Bradford