March 2016 Recognitions by the Board of Education

City of Olathe recognition

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Mike Poland thanked City of Olathe representatives its long-standing partnership with the district. The representatives included Community Relations Manager Vanessa Vaughn West, Communication and Public Engagement Manager Erin Vader, and Assistant City Manager Susan Sherman. Also part of the presentation was district Community Liaison Heather Schoonover (far right). The city works on numerous projects that support district students, families and staff.

Arvind Subramanian recognition

Arvind Subramanian of Olathe North High School was recognized for earning a perfect score of 36 on the ACT exam. Nationally, while the actual number of students earning a composite score of 36 varies from year to year, less than one-tenth of 1 percent of students taking the ACT earn a top score. He was joined at the board recognition by his Assistant Principal Heather Smith.

Shulammite Lim recognition

Shulammite Lim of Olathe North High School was recognized for receiving a $20,000 scholarship through the H&R Block Budget Challenge. The challenge replicates an adult's financial life, requiring students to pay virtual bills, save for retirement and repay student loans, all from the safety of a classroom. Lim is one of 66 winners nationwide. She was joined at the recognition by Assistant Principal Heather Smith.

Marsha Skoczek recognition

Geosciences program instructor Marsha Skoczek, of Olathe North High School, was recognized for being named the Earth Science Teacher of the Year by the Kansas Geological Foundation and the Kansas Earth Science Teachers Association. North Assistant Principal Heather Smith also participated in the recognition.


Mike Chrostowski recognition

Culinary Arts instructor Mike Chrostowski was recognized for being named Chef of the Year by the Greater Kansas City Chefs Association. Amy McLain, career and technical education administrator, also participated in the board's presentation to Chrostowski. The Culinary Arts team recently claimed their 11th straight Kansas ProStart Invitational win and will go on to nationals.

John Ernst recognition

Rolling Ridge Elementary Principal John Ernst was recognized as the Kansas National Distinguished Principal of the Year, an award given by the National Association of Elementary School Principals. The award recognizes elementary principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character, school climate, families and staff in their learning communities. He was joined at the board meeting by Executive Director of General Administration / Elementary Programs Brent Yeager.

Alison Banikowski recognition

Deputy Superintendent Alison Banikowski received the Honor Administrator Award from the Kansas Music Educators Association. The annual award recognizes administrators who have demonstrated continuing leadership in developing, improving and supporting music. Fine Arts Coordinator Martha Gabel, who is also president of the Kansas Music Educators Association, assisted with the presentation.

Josh Anderson recognition

Josh Anderson, head speech and debate coach at Olathe Northwest High School, was named by the National Federation of High Schools as its 2015-16 Outstanding Speech/ Debate/ Theatre Educator Award for Section 5. Assisting with the board's presentation were Craig Manteuffel from the Kansas State High School Activities Association (center) and Northwest Assistant Principal Greg Smith.

Photos by Jim Bradford