May 2016 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Olathe Chamber of Commerce recognition

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member LeEtta Felter (center) thanked representatives from the Olathe Chamber of Commerce for the organization's dedicated commitment to the district. The partnership reaches all academic levels and consistently brings financial and volunteer support to the district. Chamber representatives included (from left) Laura Baldwin, Casey Wilhm, Tim McKee and Brad Cornell. Olathe Public Schools Foundation Executive Director Cindy VonFeldt (second from right) and Community Liaison Heather Schoonover (far right) assisted in the recognition presentation.

Ethan Ching recognition

Ethan Ching, a seventh-grader at California Trial Middle School, was selected to perform in the 2016 Middle School Honors Performance Series Orchestra in New York City in June. The cellist was selected from thousands of students across the United States and Canada to perform in the Honors Junior Orchestra in Carnegie Hall. He was joined at the board meeting by orchestra director Sherry Wann and Principal Mike Wiley.

Johannah Cairns recognition

Olathe Northwest High School senior Johannah Cairns was awarded the grand prize for her drawing, American Dream, by the Kansas Council for Art Education during Youth Art Month. Her art teacher, Lisa Hirsch, and principal, Gwen Poss (far right), participated in the recognition ceremony at the board meeting.

SMART teams recognition

Two SMART Teams (Students Modeling a Research Topic) from the 21st Century Life Sciences and Animal Health programs at Olathe North High School were recognized, along with their instructors Chris Elniff and L.B. Fogt. The teams presented their protein models with posters at the National Experimental Biology Conference after working with research scientists from the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Robotics Team 1710 recognition

The Olathe Northwest High School Robotics Team 1710 won the chairman's trophy at the FIRST Robotics Regional Championships. This title is the sixth overall by Team 1710 and puts them in the top 16 of most chairman's award wins ever. Instructors Darren Worcester, Dina Wingfield and Brandon Hernandez, and principal Gwen Poss also participated in the recognition.

Cindy Galemore recognition

Director of Health Services Cindy Galemore was named a Fellow for the National Association of School Nurses. The honor of Fellow is the most prestigious recognition that members can receive. Deputy Superintendent Alison Banikowski assisted in the presentation.

Amanda Faunce recognition

Olathe East High School Assistant Principal and Athletic Director Amanda Faunce received the Art Newcomer Promising Director of the Year Award from the Kansas Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association. District Athletic and Activities Director Tim Brady assisted in the board's recognition.

Pioneer Trail recognition

Pioneer Trail Middle School has been named a Kansas High Performing School for 2016 by the Kansas Association of Middle School Administrators, and was named a 2016 Exemplary Middle School by the same organization. Representing the school were math teacher Erin Richerson, Principal Elaine Carpenter (center), and language arts teacher Elexis Brack. Executive Director of General Education / Secondary Programs Jim McMullen assisted in the presentation.

Governors Award recognition

Governor's Achievement Awards were received by four Olathe schools this year. Representing their schools were principals Greg Oborny of Regency Place Elementary School, Cathy McDonald of Bentwood Elementary School, Sean Bohon of Manchester Park Elementary School, and Gwen Poss of Olathe Northwest High School. Assistant Superintendent for Teaching and Learning Jessica Dain (far right) was also present for the recognition.

Photos by Marlene Colgan