June 2016 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Garmin business partner recognition

Superintendent Marlin Berry and board member Amy Martin thanked Garmin for its lengthy business partnership with the district. Garmin has brought innovative opportunities to the 21st Century Academies, supported the Olathe Public Schools Foundation, and been a strong Adopt-A-School partner. Garmin representatives Laurie Minard and Lisa Kaiser (center) accepted the certificate of thanks. Olathe Public Schools Foundation Executive Director Cindy VonFeldt and Community Liaison Heather Schoonover also participated in the recognition.

Amrith Samuel recognition

Amrith Samuel, a seventh-grader from Mission Trail Middle School, is Olathe’s spelling bee winner and represented the district at the Scripps National Spelling Bee. He was joined by Principal Rachelle Waters, and district K-12 reading, language arts and Title 1 coordinator Mary Jo Fox. Grace Hobson (far right) represented the Olathe News, sponsor of the local spelling bee.

Nicolas Rodriguez recognition

Nicolas Rodriguez, a recent graduate of Olathe Northwest High School, was named a U.S. Presidential Scholar. This prestigious recognition is one of the highest achievements for a graduating senior. His principal, Gwen Poss, assisted at the recognition.

Rhonda Scott recognition

Rhonda Scott, district sign language interpreter, was awarded National Certification by Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, which is the national certification agency that has established the high standards for sign language interpreters nationwide. She was joined at the board presentation by Special Services Coordinator Cristan Philip.


Arbor Creek Elementary recognition

Arbor Creek Elementary Principal Melanie DeMoss and Arbor Creek counselor Kathy Reschke were joined by three students as their school was recognized as the Kindest School in Kansas City. The Kindest Kansas Citian Committee sought to recognize a school that demonstrates a thorough understanding of kindness and as well as promotes kindness, tolerance, respect and learning. The contest was open to schools from across the Kansas City metropolitan area. Executive Director of General Administration / Elementary Programs Brent Yeager assisted at the presentation.


SkilsUSA recognition

Olathe Advanced Technical Center students Cole Trued and Savanna Smith placed first in their competition categories at the Kansas SkillsUSA and earned a spot to compete in the National SkillsUSA later this month. They were accompanied by career and technical education administrator Amy McLain, Construction Trades instructor Gary Anderson, and Auto Technology instructors Ken Gandy and Ed Hensley.

Culinary Arts recognition

Career and technical education administrator Amy McLain and Culinary Arts instructor Mike Chrostowski accompanied several award winning young chefs to the board recognition. The students competed in the Kansas ProStart Culinary competition in three categories: culinary, edible centerpieces and management. Student teams earned several first place awards at the state competition and competed at the National ProStart Competition for the eighth consecutive year.

Olathe Northwest TSA recognition

Olathe Northwest High School Technology Student Association (TSA) members brought home their fourth straight state championship recently. They won 10 events and qualified nine students for the TSA National Championships in Nashville later this month. Principal Gwen Poss and teacher Kevin Hulsen assisted in the recognition presentation.


LEAD Academy recognition

Drew Thomas (fourth from left), Erin Richerson, Denine Larson, Josh Price, Andrew Dimmett, Julie Sluyter, and Mark Munson successfully completed the district's eight-month Leadership, Experience, Advancement and Development (L.E.A.D.) Academy for potential building administrators. Not pictured are Scott Appell, Kyle Kost and Chris Lucas. The group was also congratulated by Executive Director of General Administration / Secondary Programs Jim McMullen, Assistant Superintendent Erin Dugan and Executive Director of General Administration / Elementary Programs Brent Yeager.

Photos by Cody Kennedy