February 2017 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Recognition of Olathe Junior Service League Board of Education President Rick Schier recognized The Olathe Junior Service League as a long-standing civic partner. The league has supported scholarships, hosted a station at the Back to School Outreach for families in need, partnered with Santa Fe Trail Middle School, and provided volunteers for the Main Street USA learning experience. League officers at the meeting included board member Cristan Philipp, scholarship chair Denise Herman and president Andrea Cronin. Community Liaison Heather Schoonover (right) assisted with the presentation.
Recognition of Kim Ingraham Kim Ingraham of Pleasant Ridge Elementary School was named a Kansas Horizon Award winner. The awards are sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and recognize the exemplary work of teachers during their first year in the classroom. Ingraham is now in her second year of teaching in the district. She was accompanied at the presentation by her building principal, Krystal Actkinson.
Recognition of Katie Chiaverini

English Language Learning teacher Katie Chiaverini of Westview Elementary School received the Educator Award from the Olathe Human Relations Commission and Persons with Disabilities Advisory Board. She started a book club promoting bilingual literacy and leadership opportunities for immigrant students and families at Westview. Her principal, Jon Bell, assisted at the presentation.

Recognition of Forest View Elementary

Several students and staff from Forest View Elementary School attending the meeting to be recognized for their school being named a Leader in Me Lighthouse School by Franklin Covey Co. The honor was given because the school achieved outstanding results in school and student outcomes by implementing The Leader in Me process. Principal Mark Heck (second from left) was recognized along with the group of teachers and students.

Photos by Cody Kennedy