April 2017 Recognitions by the Board of Education

Recognition of Clay Blair Foundation and Garmin

Interim Superintendent Patricia All and board member Joe Beveridge thanked Laurie Minard from Garmin, and Janet and Clay Blair from the Blair Family Foundation for their support of Olathe teachers. The Clay Blair Family Foundation generously donated a Garmin vívofit 3 activity tracker to all teachers in the Olathe School District and Saint James Academy, as a way to honor teachers and the efforts they make each day to impact the lives of students. Assisting with the presentation was Community Liaison Heather Schoonover (second from right).

Recognition of Jessica Dain

Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning Jessica Dain was recently selected to be inducted into the Alumni Hall of Honor in the Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation (HPER) at Emporia State University. This prestigious award recognizes HPER alumni who have represented the education profession in an exemplary fashion.

Recognition of Olathe North dance team

The Olathe North High School dance team won the title of Large Varsity Pom National Champions at the National Dance Alliance High School National Championships held in Orlando, Florida.

recognition of Olathe Northwest dance team

Olathe Northwest High School's dance team won three awards at the National Dance Alliance High School National Championship: International Pom National Champions, Large Varsity Jazz National Champions, and Grand National Champion.

recognition of Olathe North band

The Olathe North High School Screamin' Eagle Band, under the direction of Justin Love (second from left) was one of two high school bands to perform at the Distinguished Concerts International New York (DCINY). The band presented "Wind Songs" at Carnegie Hall's Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage. Accompanying the band at the recognition were band teacher John Wickersham and Olathe North Principal Jason Herman (far right).

recognition of state wrestling champions

Five wrestlers won state championships this spring. From left are Olathe North Principal Jason Herman, North wrestling head coach Josh Carroll, Riley Alderman, Terrell Garraway, Jevon Parrish, Tyler Flood, Nick Jouret of Olathe South High School, South wrestling head coach Conor Fitzgerald, board member Joe Beveridge (back row), Olathe South Principal Clint Albers and Interim Superintendent Pat All.

Photo by Cody Kennedy