Shivashankar Wins District Spelling Bee on Way to Nationals

Feb. 14, 2013 ~ Vanya Shivashankar, a student at California Trail Middle School, is one step away from the Scripps National Spelling Bee after winning the districtwide bee on Feb. 14. Vanya was one of 43 participants in this year's district spelling event at Frontier Trail Middle School.

She won by correctly spelling "maladroit" which is an adjective meaning awkward.

Anna Ramasamy of Woodland Elementary School was runner-up. Six students spelled in the final round.

The local bee is sponsored by The Olathe News and is a qualifying event for the national competition which will be held May 26 through June 1 in Washington, D.C.

This year's spellers were:

  • Arbor Creek Elementary School — Paiton Stith
  • Bentwood Elementary School — Hunter Lillian
  • Black Bob Elementary School — Owen Gray
  • Briarwood Elementary School — Bryan Johnson
  • Brougham Elementary School — Lauren Mehnert
  • Cedar Creek Elementary School — Amrith Samuel
  • Central Elementary School — Emily Pine
  • Clearwater Creek Elementary School — Elly Meman
  • Countryside Elementary School — Braelee Bell
  • Fairview Elementary School — Cesar Guerra
  • Forest View Elementary School — Mallory Brown
  • Green Springs Elementary School — Brendan Hail
  • Havencroft Elementary School — Rebecca Cain
  • Heritage Elementary School — Caleb Lundquist
  • Indian Creek Elementary School — Emma Prester
  • Madison Place Elementary School — Ruby Onsongo
  • Mahaffie Elementary School — Reeve Reyman
  • Manchester Park Elementary School — Dawson Marks
  • Meadow Lane Elementary School — Kameron Macrorie
  • Northview Elementary School — Devon Howerton
  • Pleasant Ridge Elementary School — Wade Boohar
  • Prairie Center Elementary School — Emily Lorius
  • Ravenwood Elementary School — Kylie Volavongsa
  • Regency Place Elementary School — Manas Madhira
  • Ridgeview Elementary School — Anthony Guerrero
  • Rolling Ridge Elementary School — Cassandra Norris
  • Scarborough Elementary School — Makaila Mackey
  • Sunnyside Elementary School — Drew Houfek
  • Tomahawk Elementary School — Audrey Henkel
  • Walnut Grove Elementary School — Kiersten Boylan
  • Washington Elementary School — Tyler Bussey
  • Westview Elementary School — Katlyn Kimmi
  • Woodland Elementary School — Anna Ramasamy
  • California Trail Middle School — Vanya ShivashankarC
  • hisholm Trail Middle School — Hunter Eisler
  • Frontier Trail Middle School — Shulammite Lim
  • Indian Trail Middle School — Magda Werkmeister
  • Mission Trail Middle School — Jacob Downing
  • Oregon Trail Middle School — Tristen Kremer
  • Pioneer Trail Middle School — Connor Thomson
  • Prairie Trail Middle School — Jacob Stegeman
  • Santa Fe Trail Middle School — Marco Oquendo
  • Christ Lutheran School — Olivia Lawler

Did you know:

  • This year's Olathe district event included 18 rounds of spelling.
  • The national spelling bee dates back to 1925.
  • Only four Kansas students have won the Scripps National Spelling Bee: 1958, 1968, 1978, 2009.
  • Olathe's own Kavya Shivashankar won the national title in 2009.
California Trail's Vanya Shivashankar takes a turn during the district's 2013 spelling bee. Vanya Shivashankar spells
First place went to Vanya Shivashankar, left, and runner-up was Anna Ramasamy of Woodland Elementary School. Winner and runner-up

Vanya Shivashankar takes a minute to enjoy her win at the district's spelling bee which entitles her to compete in the national event.

Photos by Ann Kohn

Vanya and trophy