Beveridge, Wickliffe Take Seats on Board of Education

July 16, 2015 ~ Joe Beveridge and Shannon Wickliffe were sworn in as new members of the Olathe Board of Education on July 16. They joined re-elected members LeEtta Felter and Rick Schier at the governing body's first meeting of the new fiscal year.

Board members elected Rick Schier as president for the 2015-16 year, and Brent McCune as vice president. Other significant roles will be held by Joy Bondurant (clerk), Gail McKay (deputy clerk), Merle Hastert (treasurer), and Michael Norris of Norris & Keplinger, L.L.C. (school district attorney).

Chief Financial and Operations Officer John Hutchison shared preliminary budget information with the board. He shared that approximately $2 million will need to be cut from the 2015-16 budget, which includes the elimination of some programs and positions from the district. The cuts are due to increased costs and continued district growth in a time of reduced and frozen funding from the state.

The budget adoption timeline proposed includes publishing the Notice of Hearing on August 8, holding a community budget workshop at 6 p.m. on Aug. 13, presenting the proposed budget to the board and holding a public hearing on Aug. 20, adopting the budget on Aug. 20, and certifying the budgets by Aug. 25.

In other business, the board:

  • Approved a consent agenda including meeting minutes; reports; student trips; student acceptable use policy regarding technology; 1,116-hour school year policy; designating The Olathe News as the official district newspaper and the Kansas City Star as the backup official newspaper; appointments and designations; resolution for document destruction; qualified financial depositories for idle district funds; mileage reimbursement rate of 57 cents per mile; resolution for use of district petty cash; resolution for use of district activity funds; authorization of advance payments of claims; Head Start staff policies, procedures and transportation work plan; designating May 20 as an inclement weather day; and resolution for disposal of surplus property.
  • Approved the 2015-16 School Resource Officer agreement which will provide 10 full-time SROs and one full-time supervisor to provide coverage as the four high schools, nine middle schools and alternative education locations.
  • Accepted trade bids for Olathe West High School.
  • Accepted an architectural-engineering proposal from Hollis+Miller Architects to complete design and construction documents regarding renovations at Millcreek Center.
  • Approved construction change orders for Olathe West High School.
  • Accepted bids to purchase new band and orchestra instruments due to increased enrollment in district music programs.
  • Appointed board members to serve with various organizations: Shannon Wickliffe with the Head Start Policy Council; LeEtta Felter with the Olathe Public Schools Foundation Board; and Amy Martin with the Kansas Association of School Boards Governmental Relations Network.
  • Set a regular meeting schedule of 6 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month, in the Education Center, 14160 Black Bob Road, Olathe. Meeting dates for the 2015-16 fiscal year will be Aug. 6, Sept. 3, Oct. 1, Nov. 5, Dec. 3, Jan. 7, Feb. 4, March 3, April 7, May 5 and June 2. The 2016-17 organizational meeting will be on July 14, 2016. The third Thursday of each month is reserved for potential special meetings.
  • Approved the budget Notice of Hearing for publication in The Olathe News on July 25.
  • Received information on future action items such as curriculum and student trips.
  • Received a quality criteria collection report for 2014-15 regarding the Quality Performance Accreditation process.
  • Received information on recent construction change orders.
  • Received a report on unencumbered cash balances for each fund.
  • Held an executive session to discuss personnel matters and employer-employee negotiations, as well as consult with the district's attorney.

The complete agenda and supporting documents are available at