Special Banquet to Honor Notable Alums, Longtime Teacher

June 15, 2017 ~ The Olathe Public Schools Alumni Association will recognize three exceptional alumni and one Distinguished Person of Honor during its Wall of Honor banquet on Wednesday, Oct. 4, at the Ball Conference Center, 21350 W. 153rd St., Olathe.

alumni logoThis year's honorees are:

  • The late Phillip Garrett, civic volunteer and co-founder of Olathe's Pop Warner football program, John P. St. John Memorial High School Class of 1939
  • David Lee, Olathe physician and founder of Olathe Cancer Care, Olathe High School Class of 1975
  • The late Eugene Paul Tuley, longtime Olathe businessman and community supporter, John P. St. John Memorial High School Class of 1956

The late James R. Smith, a longtime biology teacher, multi-sport coach and administrator, was selected as this year's Distinguished Person of Honor. Started in 2012, the Distinguished Person of Honor Award recognizes individuals who did not graduate from the district but provided exceptional support to the Olathe district for many years.

The dinner honoring these notable individuals will begin at 6 p.m. (socializing and seating at 5:30 p.m.). Tickets are $35 per person. Event sponsorships are available for $1,000. Call (913) 780-8182 for tickets or sponsorship information.

The 2017 Wall of Honor inductees will be recognized by the Board of Education during its Oct. 5 meeting at the Education Center, 14160 Black Bob Road, Olathe. Photos and biographies of previous honorees are available on the Wall of Honor.