District Staff Receive Honors

Aug. 28, 2017

Olathe Northwest Tennis Coach Named Coach of the Year

Tim Oberhelman, boys tennis coach at Olathe Northwest High School, was recently named the Kansas 6A Boys Tennis Coach of the Year by the Kansas Tennis Coaches Association. This is the fourth time Oberhelman has been selected for this award.

"I am pleased to have received award," Oberhelman said. "Being my fourth time, it means a lot."

Six Olathe Educators Named to Global Lists

Three Olathe Public Schools administrators were recently named to the Flipped Learning Global Initiative (FLGI) Top 40 Flipped Learning Administrators List. Pioneer Trail Middle School Principal Elaine Carpenter and Assistant Principal Justin Howe, and Chisholm Trail Middle School Principal Michael Wolgast were named on the list.

Three additional Olathe staff members also appeared on the FGLI Top 100 K-12 Teachers List including Santa Fe Trail Middle School Assistant Principal Erin Richerson and Pioneer Trail Middle School teachers Matt Bowers and Ryan Hull.

"The field of teaching and education is not a stagnant career. As a principal, I encourage my staff members to not only keep current on new ideas but also educate themselves on innovative teaching strategies. Last year 11 faculty members volunteered to become certified through the Flipped Global Learning Initiative," Carpenter said. "Through the use of technology and teaching strategies, flipped learning gives teachers a variety of ways to reach students on an independent level and allows them to best utilize the limited time they have with students each day."