District Announces National Merit Semifinalists

Sept. 13, 2017 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The Olathe School District has 21 National Merit Semifinalists.

The semifinalists from the district are:

  • Olathe East High School: Negin Amouei, Jack Donley, Sameena Hameed, Dominique Jaramillo, Timothy Schmidt and Jacob Wilson.
  • Olathe North High School: Shulammite Lim, Cheyenne Loo and Magda Werkmeister.
  • Olathe Northwest High School: Andrew Booze, Kenton Huff, Kristoffer Lauridsen, Jackson Mayuga, Tianna McIff, Selina Noor, Stephen Schuler and Krisdapa Sirasudhi.
  • Olathe South High School: Hanna Carney, Natalie Roberts, Alexius Schmidt and Kylee Wallentine.

From the approximate 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level and in February they will be notified of this designation.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2018. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards will be provided by about 230 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria.

In addition, about 190 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,000 college-sponsored merit scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.