Olathe Staff and Students Receive Community Awards

Oct. 10, 2017 ~ Two Olathe staff members and two students were recently selected to receive community awards from the Olathe Human Relations Commission. Olathe North High School Principal Jason Herman will receive the Educator Award, and Olathe Northwest High School science teacher Jennifer O'Gorman will receive the Persons with Disabilities Accessible Community Award. Olathe North student Amanda Yoksh and Olathe Northwest student Daytona Hodson will receive the Youth Community Award.

photo of Jason HermanThe Olathe Human Relations Educator Award honors an educator who promotes diversity and inclusion throughout the academic system and exemplifies a positive attitude toward improving human relations.

"I am honored that the Olathe Human Relations Commission recognizes that the Olathe North community is attempting to make a social change particularly in our schools," Herman said. "The Olathe North Social Justice Council was established to do just that, impact the community in a positive way to appreciate inclusivity and kindness for all. We feel like this is just the tip of the iceberg, and look forward to continue our efforts to impact the students of Olathe."

The Persons with Disabilities Accessible Community Award honors individuals for meritorious service, perseverance or determination in the pursuit of disability inclusiveness.

"It is an honor to receive this award. It is a validation of the work the students are doing in the Engineer a Better World class at Olathe Northwest High School," O'Gorman said. "The goal of our class is to create positive change in the world, large or small. This experience provided us with a great opportunity to design, create and build and be inspired by those with disabilities."

The Olathe Human Relations Youth Award honors youths who demonstrate a valuable impact on their school, church or organization that promotes good human relations. Yoksh and Hodson established a Food Allergy Awareness Week in May.

Herman, O'Gorman, Yoksh and Hodson will be honored at the annual Olathe Community Awards Banquet Oct. 12, at the Olathe Community Center.

(Picture of Jason Herman)